Celebration marks 150 for Little Falls parish

St. Mary Parish in Little Falls celebrated its 150th anniversary June 24. The celebration included Mass with Bishop Donald Kettler, a pork chop dinner, games for kids, a bean bag tournament and live music.

Formed from a number of parishes, St. Mary has a unique history. It began with San Salvador Parish which formed in 1868 and was renamed St. Francis Xavier in 1892. That parish then merged with Sacred Heart Parish in 1944 to form St. Mary. The current church, pictured above, was built on the site of the the old Sacred Heart Church that was destroyed by fire in 1946. The building was dedicated in 1957. St. Adalbert became part of the parish in the 1950s.

Father Joe Herzing, pastor of the parish, competes in the bean bag tournament. (Photo by Paul Middlestaedt / For The Visitor)
Sherry Feige, right, and Dorothy Mushel along with their husbands, Don Feige, left, and Bob Mushel look at a display at Mary of Lourdes Elementary School. Artifacts and pictures from throughout the parish’s history were on display in the school gym. (Photo by Paul Middlestaedt / For The Visitor)













Children have fun riding the kinship train. (Photo by Paul Middlestaedt / For The Visitor)

Author: The Visitor

The Visitor is the official newpaper for the Diocese of Saint Cloud.

Leave a Reply