Pope: Six mission dioceses in Canada will transition to normal status

Above: Pope Francis (CNS photo/Tony Gentile, Reuters)
Above: Pope Francis (CNS photo/Tony Gentile, Reuters)

VATICAN CITY (CNS) — Pope Francis has decided that six dioceses in Canada, previously considered mission territories under the jurisdiction of the Congregation for the Evangelization of Peoples, will transition to normal status.

The dioceses of Keewatin-Le Pas, Churchill-Hudson Bay, Moosonee, Grouard-McLennan, Mackenzie-Fort Smith and Whitehorse now fall under the normal, or “common law” status, the Vatican announced Jan. 25.

The change in status places the northern Canadian dioceses under the Congregation of Bishop, which oversees common law dioceses around the world.

Prior to the announcement, the congregation for evangelization provided financial support to the six Canadian missionary dioceses.

According to the newspaper of the Archdiocese of Vancouver, the six dioceses are too small to be self-sufficient, thus requiring support from the Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops and from several Catholic organizations in Canada.


Author: Catholic News Service

Catholic News Service is the U.S. Conference of Catholic Bishops’ news and information service.